Daddy In Training, Mum Going Slightly Crazy

Since yesterday, D has been my good Padawan (Jedi Apprentice) as I taught him the various things that I do for TJ. Things like preparing TJ’s bath, bathing TJ, getting his lunch ready (making cereal, preparing and steaming the sweet potato/pumpkin/carrots/bananas), what to look out for during the daytime, when to put TJ down for his naps etc. Basically, anything that goes on during the day.

Dim Sum at Lei Gardens, APM, 4 AprD has been a great help since TJ was born, and I am glad that D is a hands-on dad. Since I am a stay-at-home mum while D is hard at work during the daytime, I usually try not to bug him with minding TJ when he comes home from work. Besides after a day’s work, D would prefer to be the fun dad and play with his son, rather than do all the other mundane things. Still, it’s just the two of us to share the responsibility, and I do need a break, even if it’s just for a short time.

Why the training?

This coming week is quite a busy one for me, seems like things just start falling onto my lap when I least expect it.

In my earlier post, I mentioned that I have been thinking about returning to work and waiting for teaching opportunities.

This Tuesday, I will be meeting up with my ex-boss at 2pm. I do not know the details, but my ex-colleague had called to ask me to make an appointment to see the boss. I suppose something will be offered, hopefully it will be a good deal, a win-win situation for both parties.

Wed to Fri from 8am to 3pm, I will be a substitue teacher (back home in Sgp, we call that “Relief”) at American International School (Elementary)  for a friend who has to lead a school camp. Well, she is a Phy Ed teacher there, so I reckon I will be doing lots of games and activities. Not sure if my left knee can take the strain, in fact, I have been having lots of problem with this bad knee since TJ was 2 months old… climbing the stairs hurt, walking down stairs and slopes make it worse. 😉 Btw, I have been going to the gym for a few months now, trying to get my body back to pre-pregnancy weight, but it’s tough since I only have time to do so once a week… getting there but still another 6 more kilograms to go. Haiz. 

Anyway, the money will come in handy and I am interested to know how the American education system is like, so this will be a good opportunity to learn and gain some exposure.

And it just so happens that D needs to clear some leave, so during those days when I am away, TJ can bond with his daddy.

On the one hand, I am glad to have the opportunity to get out of the house. But why is it I am missing my son now? Will he be ok? What if he starts fussing for me? Can he get used to daddy bathing, feeding, coaxing him?

I am thinking, if I am acting kinda crazy over 3 days of work, how would I feel when I do actually return to work? The rational me knows that I shouldn’t have anything to worry about since TJ will be in D’s good hands, but the psychotic emotional me is questioning my decision to be away from TJ.

Damn, it’s just for 3 days. Duh?!?

 

Leave a Reply

