I Have Been …

Thinking hard
about going back earlier to teach in the new academic year, which starts this August.

D and I have planned for me to stay home with TJ for a year, and financially, we have managed quite well on D’s sole salary. I am enjoying every second of my time with TJ, watching him grow and be the first to experience his every milestone. On some days, I am torn over the fact that I would miss TJ and worry over him when I am back at work. If there is another alternative, I would choose to be home with TJ.

The main reason for returning to work is financial. There are responsibilities back home in S’pore that I need to maintain, particularly on my side of the family. More importantly, D and I have been talking about the kind of future that we want for us and our kids, and well, money is the determining factor on how soon this future becomes a reality.

Waiting for a reply
on teaching opportunities, particularly on a part-time basis. I am not asking for much, just hope that the money will be good enough for me to go back to teach, and at the same time gives me the flexibility of time to spend with TJ and D.

Giving tuition is another option, I would be able to earn quite abit. Even though money is the main driving force, I still prefer to be with other adults in a formal working environment.

Interviewing
potential domestic helpers to take care of TJ when I do return to work later in the year. I had advertised on AsiaExpat last week and there have been people who are interested to take up the job. I don’t want to rush into finding someone to babysit TJ and regret later.

We are looking for someone to come in between 8 to 5pm (some days could be 7 am and end earlier) to take care of TJ. Housekeeping is secondary. We don’t want a live-in maid and professional nannies (the angmohs) cost way too much.

We had met and spoken to one candidate and will be meeting another one this coming Saturday. Hopefully by the time we made our choice, I would have been given a job offer too.

Praying hard
that we will wait patiently and trust God in all the decisions that we make. I am not sure how things will work out, but God has been very kind to us all these years. So we will wait.

2 responses to “I Have Been …

  1. I found your blog on google and read a few of your other posts. I just added you to my Google News Reader. Keep up the good work. Look forward to reading more from you in the future.

    Stacey Derbinshire

  2. Pingback: Daddy In Training, Mum Going Slightly Crazy « Kancheong Spider

Leave a Reply

