Mishmash

I have been staring at the screen for an hour and a half, typed a few words and backspaced every single letter. It’s been a while since I last blogged and I reckon I should do something tonight, especially since TJ is asleep since 8pm. There are many ideas, but none that prompts me to tap furiously on my keyboard.

So I will just blog anything that comes into my mind… 

I thought I have  been careful in “hiding” my lower back tattoo, especially since I am staying at my parents’ place. But one day while washing TJ’s milk bottles in the kitchen, my mum asked me when I inked my back. For a few seconds, I didn’t know how to answer her and thought that she would blast me for doing something like that (yeah, I am still terrified of her temper). But I had overestimated her reaction and underestimated her openness… She was actually cool about it, asked me if it was painful and commented “Why you want to put yourself through the pain?”

Every time D returns to S’pore, TJ would have something new to show his dad. Last Saturday, early in the morning and at 4 and a half months old, TJ rolled over from his back to his tummy. The first few tries weren’t too smooth and it felt like he would pop some veins doing it. However by mid afternoon, TJ was already an expert. While D and I are enjoying this milestone, we are now more wary of him on the bed and place more pillows around him to prevent any accidents. And since last week, TJ has finally slept through the night till around 7.30am the next morning, without whimpering for his wee morning milk. 🙂 Looking at TJ now, I am glad that I have decided to take the year off and spend the time with him.

Thanks to CML (Mola Cheng) for thinking of D and I, poor parents sitting at home minding TJ on the 2nd day of CNY, and invited us to Ministry Of Sound that night. My mum is always happy to look after TJ, especially since she will not get to see her favourite grandson for a while, D and I managed to have some fun clubbing. Both of us haven’t been to Clarke Quay in years, and clubbing at MOS was a first. It was nice catching up with my ex-colleagues from HK and just doing something other than carrying TJ, expressing breastmilk, feeding, burping etc. I knew I could only have 1 drink and thought long and hard what that would be. In the end, it was my usual… Macallan Single Malt Scotch Whisky, neat over ice. I savoured it slowly and for awhile, it felt good to be back to those days of me, myself and I. 🙂 The 70s, 80s music was ok, D and I were at the dancefloor and boogied to 2 songs before rushing home to our sleeping son around 12.40am. I would have gotten really excited if the deejay had spinned some Depeche Mode, and it was hard not to think about TJ. Moreover, I didn’t feel good letting my mum stay up while we were out having fun.

We took the long MRT ride to Bt Batok on Sunday afternoon to meet up with some friends at J’s house. Since we are too used to HK’s fast and efficient MTR service, with waiting time not more than 3 minutes at any time of the day, any day of the week, it was hard waiting 5-7 minutes for the MRT train. J introduced TJ to her smart and extremely well-behaved four-year-old son and we had a good laugh over his innocent question.
J           : “This is TJ.”
J’s son: “What does TJ start with?”

D thinks that his son looks good in any headgear, including the H.A.D headwear with polar bear prints that he bought in HK. Together with the Baby Banz sunnies that TJ’s godma bought from Canada, TJ has been a cool dude.

The day to return to HK is drawing near, it’s the last week in S’pore for TJ and I. There is packing to be done (going to Pasir Ris on Tues 12 Feb to collect my bag), mainly TJ’s clothes. I have been monitoring the temperatures in HK, and the winter monsoon is still brewing. Temps this coming weekend will be 12-15 degrees C. Now, I am wondering if I have enough warm clothings for TJ and whether he will adapt to the low temps having been in warm and sunny S’pore since birth. Maybe the lil’ Michellin Man, His Royal Chubbiness, will be able to tahan the cold for obvious reasons. 😉

Think that’s all the mishmash I have to write for one night.

Leave a Reply

